In the Beginning...

The Kick-Off meeting for PLAN (then known as THE PIPELINE FORUM) was held in the offices of S.P.D.C. on Friday the 18th of November, 2005. The premiere meeting was attended by 17 individuals who formed the Set-Up Committee of the Association.

The meeting was opened by Geoff Onuoha with a background of the vision of Wim Vranckx and himself to start an association that brings together ALL pipeline professionals across the board, to meet one another, exchange ideas, share expertise and grow knowledge towards more effective and professional management of pipelines in Nigeria.

The following were nominated and elected unopposed as officials of the set-up committee.

  • Wim Vranckx -Chairman
  • Geoff Onuoha Vice Chairman
  • Stewart Logan – Secretary
  • Abraham Atotse- Co-Secretary

Vim Vranckx chaired the rest of the meeting. The general objectives of the association were unanimously supported by a show of hands by all present. All attendees also accepted to serve as members of the set-up committee.

Tuesday 13th December was proposed and agreed by all as the date for the inaugural meeting of the association. The venue was set for Port Harcourt, after close of work on that day.

PLAN Today

PLAN from her humble start now has four chapters in Port Harcourt, Lagos, Warri and Abuja, with a membership of over 600 individuals and 56 corporate members (a major leap from the four foundation members).

The Association has held numerous Technical sessions, Seminars and Workshops, all geared to expanding the knowledge base of practitioners (both technical and non-technical) within the Oil and Gas sector, with emphasis on pipelines.

PLAN has liaised with various Administrations to push for greater growth in the pipeline sector, most recent being a 3-day Workshop organised by the Senate Committee on Oil and Gas in Calabar in 2016.

Last Updated

6 years ago

Share this page
Key Dates in PLAN History​

The Association was formally inaugurated

PLAN was incorporated

PLAN held her first AGM

The first Technical session held in Port Harcourt

High Level meeting between PLAN Executives and the National Security Adviser (NSA)

Unveiling of the PLAN operational vehicle

First set of recipients were given the Certificate of Distinguished Achievement Award for their contribution to the development and sustenance of knowledge in the Nigerian Oil and Gas industry

  • Siene Allwell-Brown        –    NLNG
  • Chima Ibeneche        –    NLNG
  • Abbi AbbiyeSuku
  • Basil Omiyi            –    SPDC
  • Ebi Omatsola        –    Conoil
  • Chief O. B. Lulu Briggs            –    Moni Pulo Petroleum Ltd
  • Mutiu Sunmonu        –    SPDC
  • Emmanuel Egbogah    –    Special Adviser on Petroleum
  • Guy Maurice            –    TOTAL E & P Petroleum
  • Roger Poirier            –    TOTAL E & P Petroleum
  • Vance Querio        –    Addax Petroleum

Contact Us

We’re ready to answer your questions…give us a shout

Tell us what you think about our website, our association, or anything else that comes to mind. We look forward to hearing from you!